Connect with us


All you need to know about Ashes 2023



Ashes 2023 Cover Photo

The most anticipated Ashes 2023 series men’s edition begins on Friday 16th June 2023. The unstoppable BazBall force, England comes up against the new World Test Champions Australia across six weeks of irresistible test cricket.

Having suffered a resounding 4-0 defeat 18 months ago, which effectively dashed their chances of reaching the World Test Championship Final, England utilized the latter part of their cycle to embark on a period of experimentation. Joe Root willingly stepped aside from the captaincy, allowing Ben Stokes to step up to the plate, while the appointment of Brendon McCullum as the new coach for red-ball cricket brought about significant changes.

The outcomes of these alterations proved devastating for their adversaries, as the memory of their defeat Down Under gradually faded into obscurity. In fact, England’s fast bowler Stuart Broad went so far as to declare the series as “void,” amidst additional logistical challenges. Since McCullum’s appointment, England has triumphed in an impressive 11 out of 13 matches, a record that stands comparably against their rivals, who recently lifted the coveted 2023 mace just a few days ago. The transformation that England has undergone since their defeat in Australia has been nothing short of remarkable, with their recent performances exemplifying their newfound strength and resilience.

Both England and Australia achieved success on the world-class cricket stage during the last World Test Championship cycle, with one of their common battlegrounds being Pakistan. Both teams managed to secure series victories, employing their distinct styles of play. England stuck to their now well-established approach, while Australia relied on their determination and perseverance to clinch triumph.

Ashes History

72 Ashes series has been played so far. Australia has been victorious in 34 Ashes series, while England got victory in 32 Ashes series. 6 Ashes series ended in a draw.

England last won the Ashes 2015 series, with Australia claiming the 2017/2018 Ashes and retaining the urn with a 2-2 series draw in the UK in 2019. Australia won the 2021/2022 Ashes series 4-0.

Ashes 2023 teams announced

Ashes 2023 squad for both England and Australia has been announced earlier. Australia named their squad for the World Test Championship against India and the first two Ashes Tests on April 19, 2023. England have done the same.

England Squad for Ashes 2023

Ben Stokes (c), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Dan Lawrence, Ollie Pope, Matthew Potts, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Josh Tongue, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

Australia squad for Ashes 2023

Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Scott Boland, David Warner, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Starc.

The Ashes 2023 Schedule

  • First Test: June 16 – June 20, Edgbaston
  • Second Test: June 28 – July 2, Lord’s
  • Third Test: July 6 – July 10, Headingley
  • Fourth Test: July 19 – July 23, Old Trafford
  • Fifth Test: July 27 – July 31, The Oval

Those wondering when and where to watch The Ashes 2023 live streaming, stay tuned to Explore It Beyond!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *